Just another WordPress.com site

Being passionate about what you do!

What a wonderful gift, to be able to go to work every day knowing you enjoy what you do for a living.  For me, getting up every morning knowing that I get to come to class and learn about something that interests and inspires me is really exciting! Surprisingly, most people never learn what that’s like or even consider it.  Being passionate and enthusiastic about what you do is so important, regardless of what field you choose to pursue.

“Enthusiasm is one of the most powerful engines of success. When you do a thing, do it with all your might. Put your whole soul into it. Stamp it with your own personality. Be active, be energetic and faithful, and you will accomplish your object. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.”— Ralph Waldo Emerson

I had the opportunity to take a day to research and explore a topic of my choice for school – Discover what I’m passionate about.. The nature of web design and development lends itself to multi-tasking, so when working on this assignment, I was also working on another project – redesigning a web page.  I love design and am excited to learn everything I can about the different css techniques used in designing web pages.  I know the information and technology of this field is constantly evolving and the newest version of css that many designers are using is CSS3 so I decided to take this opportunity to learn a little about the new version and some of the techniques of older versions that I haven’t used yet.

In CSS3 you can apply drop shadows to objects within your html document, targeting specific browsers (in this case Mozilla Firefox,  Safari and Chrome) – Internet Explorer 8 supports some of the CSS3 properties and IE9 supports most, but older versions do not.  You can also apply effects like gradient borders, border images, rounded box corners, use easier techniques for embedding font, greater flexibility with opacity settings, and much more!  Here is a great site to visit for more info and examples on some of the new CSS3 properties: 30 Exciting Functions and Features of CSS3

A few older CSS properties and xhtml coding techniques that I experimented with in redesigning the web page were targeting pseudo-elements (i.e. first-letter) in the html document, linking to a specific location in the middle of the homepage from another page in the web site, creating a link that opens up an email window and applying letter-spacing to elements in the site.

There’s still a lot to learn and experiment with in CSS and I can’t wait to see what I discover and how I apply it to future projects!

One response

  1. Great information and I love that you are so enthusiastic about all that you’re learning! i have copied the link you provided to read up on CSS3 and I thank you for the hard work you put into keeping us informed!

    January 18, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Leave a Reply

